Bossley Park High School

Focusing on Excellence and Success

Telephone02 9823 1033


The study of mathematics is mandatory from Kindergarten to Year 10. 

By studying mathematics, students learn to work mathematically – developing fluency, understanding, problem-solving, reasoning and communication skills.

The syllabus consists of the following strands:

  • number and algebra
  • measurement and geometry
  • statistics and probability.

In Year 11 and 12, the study of mathematics is optional. Courses offered include:

  • Mathematics Extension 2 (Year 12 only)
  • Mathematics Extension 1
  • Mathematics Advanced
  • Mathematics Standard 2
  • Mathematics Standard 1 (Optional HSC examination)
  • Mathematics Life Skills.

Head Teacher Mathematics: Ms S Sampol


Faculty aims

The Mathematics Faculty consists of 12 outstanding teachers who provide excellent teaching and learning opportunities consistently for the 1200 students enrolled at this school. Our focus is on engaging our students in relevant and rigorous teaching and learning, in a supportive, positive learning environment. We provide a differentiated curriculum focused on developing problem solving, critical thinkers for 21st Century learning. Effective teaching and learning depends on teachers providing a variety of engaging experiences that address the broad range of learning styles and needs for all students in all year groups. By utilising innovative technology and engaging with a broad range of teaching tools, the Mathematics teachers at Bossley Park High School offer students outstanding learning opportunities.

We also offer and select Acceleration to Year 9 students to complete the Mathematics Stage 5.3 Course in one year and as a result students are able to study Year 11 Preliminary Mathematics Extension 1 course in Year 10 and subsequently complete the HSC the following year.

Our Faculty aim is to ensure that every student is challenged and reach their true potential.



Following are some of the activities:

  • Australian Mathematics Competition- All Years 7-10 GAT Maths students and students in Maths 5.3a class to participate in the comp, cost of the competition is at no cost to the students, it is funded by the school.
  • ICAS Maths Competition - University of NSW
  • Mathematics Olympiad - Year 7 and 8 GAT Class only
  • Maths Inspiration workshop
  • Spark Festival - STEAM pop up excursion
  • CHOOSI Maths Comp and awards- Year 9 Accelerated Maths class only